72 - Creating Rock 'n' Roll cartoons with Richard Sirgiovanni


"If I know I want to do something I just do it. There’s no excuse not to do it." - Richard Sirgiovanni - Artist, Musician & Creator of The Grimps

"If I know I want to do something I just do it. There’s no excuse not to do it." - Richard Sirgiovanni - Artist, Musician & Creator of The Grimps

Hello and welcome to the 72nd episode of The Spark & The Art creativity podcast. Thank you for subscribing to our weekly podcast where we alternate between interviews with creative folks from all different career levels and insight and inspiration episodes. All with the intention you’ll get what you need to get your creative projects started and, more importantly, finished. 

I’m your host Tucker and this week is an interview with Richard Sirgiovanni. Richard has been a musician for most of his life, spending his youth in the New York music scene with the likes of Madonna and Cyndi Lauper. (He even tells some stories of his time at the famous music club CBGB). We also talk about his time in art college, why he moved from music into advertising and marketing and how that all led to his newest venture: a musical cartoon show about an enchanted rock band called The Grimps.

During the chat, he mentions that he shared a gig with Madonna and I asked why he thinks some people can go from sharing the same stage at the same gig to becoming Madonna and other bands move on to other careers. His answer was basically about the people you surround yourself with but I’ll let him tell the story, ‘cause it sounds better when he talks about it. 

So, I’m sure you’ll enjoy today’s chat with musician, artist and creator of cartoon rock bands, Richard Sirgiovanni. 

Was there one thing that really stuck out for you from today’s episode? Let me know on twitter @SparkArtPodcast or you can always get me by email Tucker@thesparkandtheart.com 

It would also help the show if you could share it with a friend. The easiest way is to them the short URL for this episode TheSparkAndTheArt.com/72 also on that page you’ll find show notes which include a lot of links to the musicians and bands mentioned in the episode. 

Lastly, if you have a question about today’s episode you just have a question about being a creative professional you can leave me a voicemail at my toll-free number 1-877-966-4886. Leave me your name website address and question and I’ll play it on a future episode and do my best to answer. 

Thanks for listening (and don’t forget to keep listening after the doon doons to hear We Are The Grimps) and remember: you won’t get the art without the work and you won’t do the work without the spark. 

Links for the Episode

Richard Sirgiovanni - https://twitter.com/kartuneman

School of visual arts - http://www.sva.edu

CBGB - http://www.cbgb.com

Max’s Kansas City - http://maxskansascity.com

Madonna - http://www.madonna.com

Cyndi Lauper - http://cyndilauper.com

Bon Jovi - http://www.bonjovi.com

Ramones - https://www.ramones.com

Blondie - http://www.blondie.net

Talking Heads - http://www.talking-heads.nl

Bil Keane - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bil_Keane

Family Circus - http://familycircus.com/

Maurice White - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maurice_White

Earth Wind and Fire - http://www.earthwindandfire.com/

Billy Idol - http://billyidol.net/

Jon Oates - http://johnoates.com/

Hall & Oates - http://www.hallandoates.com/

Roger Waters - http://rogerwaters.com/

Pink Floyd - http://www.pinkfloyd.com/

Johnny Rotten - http://www.johnlydon.com/jlhome.html

Sex Pistols - http://www.sexpistolsofficial.com/

The Grimps - http://thegrimps.com/

Townes Van Zandt - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Townes_Van_Zandt

Ron Dante - http://www.rondante.com/

Jack Douglas - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jack_Douglas_(record_producer)

Aerosmith - http://www.aerosmith.com/

John Lennon - http://www.johnlennon.com/

double Fantasy - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Double_Fantasy

John Boylan - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Boylan_(record_producer)

Boston - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boston_(band)

Keith Emerson - http://www.keithemerson.com/

Tony Bon Jovi - http://www.tonybongiovi.com/