44 – Make Art Make Money with Elizabeth Hyde Stevens


"What can you make that feels like it satisfies the drive in yourself to create and is honest … and also makes you money?" Elizabeth Hyde Stevens, Author Make Art Make Money

"What can you make that feels like it satisfies the drive in yourself to create and is honest … and also makes you money?" Elizabeth Hyde Stevens, Author Make Art Make Money

This week we talk with Elizabeth Hyde Stevens author of the book Make Art Make Money - Lessons from Jim Henson on fuelling hour creative career. I found the book very interesting because it follows the career of Jim Henson, creator of the Muppets,  and his ability to ride the line between art and commerce. The ability to sell products without compromising the art. 

Liz and I talk about Jim Henson, how she wrote her book, the importance of money to keep art going and what her next projects are. 

Do you know someone who is having trouble finding their place between making art and making money? It would be spectacular if you could share this episode with them. You can send the the Url TheSparkAndTheArt.com/44 Hopefully it'll give them the boost they need to start getting stuff done. 

What did you take away from today's episode? I'd love to hear what it was. Get me on twitter @sh_Tucker or leave me a voicemail at my toll-free number 1-877-966-4886 remember I also accept animal impressuons there if you don't actually have a question. 

 

** Links for this episode **

Make Art Make Money - http://elizabethhydestevens.com/make-art-make-money/

Audible -http://www.audible.com/pd/Bios-Memoirs/Make-Art-Make-Money-Audiobook/B00IOTGGHK

The Art Of Money Getting - http://www.audible.com/pd/Business/The-Art-of-Money-Getting-Audiobook/B002V1JG06

Jim Henson - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jim_Henson

CTW - http://www.sesameworkshop.org/

Andy Goldworth - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andy_Goldsworthy

Wilson’s Coffee Commercials - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZxLyuw5bdyk

Capital I - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wc1RfFYxZ2I

Cookie Monster Fruit - http://www.mjrcg.com/blog/2014/07/oppy-and-the-cookie-monster-want-kids-to-eat-brighter/

Lady Bug’s Picnic - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vX9J7WcYtxI

Pointer Sisters - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Pointer_Sisters

12! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JZshZp-cxKg

Bud Luckey - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bud_Luckey

George Lucas - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_Lucas

Star Wars - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Star_Wars

Jorge Gutierrez - TheSparkAndTheArt.com/26

Mary Robinetter Kowal - http://maryrobinettekowal.com/

The War Of Art - http://www.stevenpressfield.com/the-war-of-art/

Legend Of Bagger Vance - http://www.stevenpressfield.com/the-legend-of-bagger-vance/

Shigiru Miyamoto - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shigeru_Miyamoto

The Power Of Habit by Charles Duhigg - http://charlesduhigg.com/the-power-of-habit/

Ira Glass 'Nobody Tells This To Beginners' - http://zenpencils.com/comic/90-ira-glass-advice-for-beginners/

Muppet Show Pitch Reel - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KorhvVQRUM

Raffi - http://www.raffinews.com/

Baby Beluga - http://www.raffinews.com/store/childrens-music/baby-beluga#.VNGtmFXF_Mc